Fulbright Scholar Program

Award Details 

The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program offers approximately 470 teaching, research or combination teaching/research awards in over 125 countries. Opportunities are available for college and university faculty and administrators as well as for professionals, artists, journalists, scientists, lawyers, independent scholars and many others. In addition to several new program models designed to meet the changing needs of U.S. academics and professionals, Fulbright offers flexible awards including multi-country opportunities.

Application Timeline

Fulbright awards generally open in the month of February and generally have an application deadline in August or September.  Please refer to your program’s specifics for the latest information.


Fulbright Scholar Program

Awards Catalog

Find Your Fulbright (video)

Applying for a Fulbright (upcoming and past webinars)

Fulbright Scholar Blog

OSU Contact 

Julie Walkin

OSU Fulbright Campus Liaison
International/Faculty-led Program Manager, Office of Global Opportunities 
[email protected]

Oregon State University Fulbright Scholar Recipients

Source: Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES)         

Year Recipient Name Department Country of Research
2019-2020 Kevin Ahern Physiology Malta
  Marit Bovbjerg Public Health Ireland
  Julie Elston Economics Austria
  Joan Gross Anthropology Belgium
  Karl Haapala Engineering Finland
  Elise Lockwood Mathematics Norway
  Hannah Rempel Library Science Czech Republic
  Brian Sidlaskau Zoology Brazil
2018-2019 Michael Boock Library Science  Bulgaria
  Stephen Machado Agriculture Zambia & Zimbabwe
  Christopher Still Biology Austria
2017-2018 John Garland Forestry Chile
2016-2017 Dan Sullivan  Agronomy Romania
2015-2016 Michael Guzy Environmental Sciences Uruguay
  Michael Lerner Chemistry Germany
2014-2015 Gary Hartshorn Forestry Colombia
  David Luft History Austria
2013-2014 Heidi Jo Albers Forestry Tanzania
  Danny Damron International Education Administration South Korea
  Dawn Moyer International Education Administration United Kingdom
  Lillian Reed International Education Administration Germany
  Holly Campbell Law Canada
2012-2013 Julie Elston Business  Austria
  Joan Gross Anthropology Ecuador
  David Hannaway Crop & Soil Science China
  David McMurray Anthropology  Morocco
  Sujaya Rao Crop & Soil Science  Ecuador
  Richard Sapon-White Library Sciences Poland
  David Turner Forest Ecosystems & Society  Sweden
  Kenneth Winograd Education Vietnam
2011-2012 Nabil Boudraa Foreign Languages & Literature Algeria
  Martin Fisk Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences Norway
  Loren Kellogg Forest Engineering Australia
  Bryan Tilt Anthropology China
  Desiree Tullos Biological & Ecological Engineering Taiwan
2010-2011 Robert Hughes Environmental Sciences Brazil
  Kara Ritzheimer Seminar Program Germany
2009-2010 Tomasz Giebultowicz Physics & Astronomy Poland
  Malgorzata Peszynska Mathematics Poland
2008-2009 Sally Duncan Environmental Sciences India
  Thomas Shellhammer Agriculture Germany
  JunJie Wu Economics (Cascades) China
  Julie Elston Seminar Program Germany
2007-2008 Charles Dibrell Business Administration Poland
  William Hohenboken Agriculture Hungary
  William Jaeger Economics Italy
  Nancy King Law Belgium
  Mario Magana Engineering Argentina
2006-2007 Maureen Heeley History (non-U.S.) Germany
2005-2006 Bess Beatty American History Croatia
  Philip Brownell Biological Sciences Germany
  Robert Finnan  TEFL/Applied Linguistics Cyprus
  Barbara Gartner Agriculture Chile
2004-2005 Craig A. Morrie Medical Sciences Japan
  Pui Shing Ho Biological Sciences France
  James Kennedy Chemistry France
  Gregory Perry Agriculture Chile
  Nancy Rosenberger Anthropology Uzbekistan
  Richard Sapon-White Library Sciences Czech Republic
2003-2004 Peter Brian Bayley Environmental Sciences Mexico
  Dennis J. Garity Mathematics Slovenia
  Jay Noller Agriculture Cyprus
2002-2003 None Indicated    
2001-2002 Adela Baer Biological Sciences  Malaysia
  Richard Dick Agriculture Senegal
  Rasaratnam Logendran Engineering Malaysia
  Laura Rice Language and Literature (non-U.S.) Tunisia
  Timothy Righetti Agriculture Thailand